Orchha is a town in Tikamgarh district of Madhya Pradesh state, India. The town was established by Maharaja Rudra Pratap Singh in 1501, as the seat of an eponymous former princely state of central India, in the Bundelkhand region.
Rani Lakshmi Bai jumping point
Till this point, Lakshmibai was reluctant to rebel against the British. In June 1857 a few men of the 12th Bengal Native Infantry seized the fort containing the treasure and magazine, and massacred the European officers of the garrison along with their wives and children
The Panch Mahal is a palace inside Jhansi Fort and is a five storeyed building. It is here that Rani Laxmi Bai used to reside with her husband Raja Gangadhar Rao. Later on, she shifted her residence to Rani Mahal in the main city.
This ancient Shiva temple within the Jhansi fort stands as an example of blending of Maratha and Bundella styles of architecture. The Shiva- linga (idol) enshrined here is made of granite. Jhansi is the gateway to Bundelkhand and the fort was made by Raja Bir Singh Deo of Orchha on the top of Bangara hills.
It is said that this baradari or pavilion was built by Raja Gangadhar Rao (A.D. 1838-53) for his brother who had deep interest in drama, music etc.
This is a very old and historic temple. Maharani Lakshmi Bai’s marriage ceremony took place here. The Deity is Lord Ganesh.
The great cannon of Gangadhar Rao’s period near the current main entrance of the Jhansi fort. The cannon is called ‘kadak bijli’ as it terrorised enemies.
Jhansi Fort or Jhansi ka Kila is a fortress situated on a large hilltop called Bangira, in Uttar Pradesh, Northern India. It served as a stronghold of the Chandela Kingsin Balwant Nagar from the 11th through the 17th century
The original main gate to the fort from the city. After British took control of the fort, they closed the fort entrance leading to this main gate and opened the current entrance upto which a motorable road exists.
Kal Kothri in Jhansi. Freedom fighters deemed to be dangerous during the independence struggle of 1857 were kept imprisoned here by the British. It was actually built as a prison by the Marathas.
Hanging Tower in Jhansi. This was the place where criminals facing death sentences were hanged during King Gangadhar Rao’s time.
Rani’s Amod Garden
Rani’s Amod Garden in Jhansi. Rani Lakshmi Bai used to visit this garden with her friends to entertain herself. The British converted it into an armoury.
Chirgaon is a city and a municipal board in Jhansi district in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, India.
Chirgaon is a small yet progressive town, 30 km away from Jhansi, on Jhansi-Kanpur National Highway 25. Chirgaon has one Krishi Utpadan Mandi.
Parichha is a census town in Jhansi district in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is located on Jhansi-Kanpur highway on the bank of Betwa River.
Established in 1878, the Government Museum has a huge collection of art and artefacts belonging to the Chandela dynasty. Numerous other objects such as weapons, paintings, coins, manuscripts, terracotta and bronze statues and sculptures are on display.
Barua Sagar is a city and a municipal board in Jhansi district in the state of Uttar Pradesh, India. It was named so because of the beautiful lake called Barua Sagar Tal.
The Rani Mahal is a royal palace in the city of Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, India. The palace was built by Raghu Nath-II of the Newalkar family (1769-96). This palace later formed one of the residences for Rani Lakshmibai.
Jhansi is located in the heart of Bundelkhand and is one of the most famous cities in Uttar Pradesh. Tourists from far and beyond visit this city for its immense historical importance.
St. Judes Shrine
The devotion to St. Jude Thaddaeus, was practically unknown in India, and it was the late Bishop F. X. Fenech who started it in Jhansi, which was a Prefecture Apostolic in those days.
The Jhansi museum is located in the historical Jhansi Fort. It is a not-to-be-missed tourist destination in Jhansi. The museum not only gives an insight in to the history and heritage of Jhansi but also throws light on the history and culture of the Bundelkhand region.
This is the tomb of Gulam Gaus Khan, the main gunner during the freedom struggle of 1857, Moti Bai, a woman gunner and Khudabuksh, a horse rider.
It is presumed that this canon has the strength of the god, Bhawani which is how it got its name. A sign says the barrel’s mouth has the design of a crocodile’s mouth while the lateral portion is designed like an elephants face. The canon measures 5m long by 60cm wide and barrel has a diameter of 52cm. An inscription on it says that the name of the canon is Bhawani Shankar; the name of Guru Jairam and the date 1781. The canon was operated by Lady Gunner Moti Bai.